Broome Manor Pétanque

Men's Pairs 2019

… was on Friday, 30th August on a warm and sunny day. Eight pairs played this year, which was two more than last year.  Initial play was in four rounds to 13 points with a time limit of 40 minutes.  

The top four teams then competed in two knock-out stages to determine the overall winner and the medals, while the bottom four played for the plate.

Overall winners of the Rod Collett Trophy were Vince Osgood and Mick Nolan, who beat Silver medallists  Bob Carvey and Chris Turpin in the final.

Bronze medals were secured by Graham Perry and James Kissane who stepped in at the last minute. 

The Plate was emphatically won ( 13-0) by David Jellis and Mike Payne.

The Wooden Spoon went to Jim Mitchell and Roger O’Carroll who were unable to replicate their Silver medal performance of last year.

Our thanks go to Brenda Nolan, who presented the trophy and medals, to Sylvia Phillimore for keeping on top of the scoresheet, to Peter Latham for being the hard-worked umpire, to Chris Valters for taking the photographs, and to Dick Hardy who kept us all in check.

Full results are here.

© Broome Manor Pétanque 2020

© Broome Manor Pétanque 2019